Small Minds

A very worthy reblog as we rapidly approach the presidential elections. May our discourse focus less on personality and emotions of the moment, and more on ideals, principles, and policy as we select a candidate to guide our nation toward the future.

hughcurtler

Many years ago, in my misspent youth, I read an article in the Sunday paper, written by a Nun, that developed the notion that great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, and small minds discuss people. I have always thought that was an interesting notion and it may have been (in a small way) the reason I decided to pursue a PhD in philosophy. At the very least, I didn’t want my mind to atrophy and I thought philosophy was the sort of subject that could keep my mind alive well into my dotage: questions that don’t have answers! Well, here I am.

But, with the exception of a few bright people who post blogs and comment from time to time about the issues, I appear to be surrounded by small minds discussing people. I am speaking of the elections, of course, in which ideas are scarce if present at…

View original post 676 more words

One response to “Small Minds

Leave a Reply

