A Very Musical Monday (or Whenever)

Let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start…

sound-of-music-tour So physically, I am seated at a desk, but mentally, I am running through meadows of wildflowers somewhere in the Bavarian Alps with the Von Trapp family. Singing, of course. Loudly. Want to join me? Doe, a deer, a female deer…

I know, I know, not everyone is crazy about musicals. In fact, I have met quite a few people who would rather hop on the express train to Hell than be forced to watch a musical. As for me, I think that real life would be so much better as a Rodgers and Hammerstein production. Can you imagine? One dreary Monday morning, everyone is seated in cubicles, typing away at their computers. Then suddenly, everyone is waltzing through the office, tap-dancing on top of desks, voices raised in song about how much they hate Monday mornings. For five blockbuster minutes, there is a perfectly-coordinated whirlwind of song and dance and color. And then – work resumes as though nothing happened at all.

musical production Okay fine. That sort of thing just doesn’t happen, unless you’re lucky enough to find yourself in the midst of an Improv Everywhere flash mob. The rest of us are resigned to watching musicals on TV, or, if we can afford it, seeing them live. A couple of days ago, my daughter and I had the privilege of attending a Sound of Music sing-a-long at a large, gorgeous old theatre filled with other enthusiasts. Although I had already watched the musical countless times before, it was an entirely new experience watching it with a crowd – waving props in the air, booing and hissing at the villains, cheering for Maria and the Von Trapp family, and, of course, singing along to the familiar tunes. It was quite a treat for my daughter, too, as she had never seen the entire show before (and is now a musical-loving convert).

I hope that this musical sing-a-long thing will become a new trend. I would so love to join together with hundreds of people to sing along to other great musicals, like Into the Woods, West Side Story, Beauty and the Beast, Grease, and Mary Poppins. Maybe even Les Miserables, although I must confess that I would prefer to see a live production of Les Mis, which is among my greatest goals in life.

Les MiserablesIn the meantime, I think that I will feed my passion for musicals by going on a musical binge. After all, there are still quite a few great musicals out there that I’ve never seen (shocking, I know). Maybe I will work my way through the list of AFI’s 25 Greatest Movie Musicals of All Time. That looks like a very good place to start.

Doctor_Horrible Singalong blog

Yes, I even enjoyed Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. Immensely.

2 responses to “A Very Musical Monday (or Whenever)

Leave a Reply

