Mom’s Yelling at the TV Again (aka: Cheering On My Teams)

Gritar a la pantalla“Mom’s yelling at the TV again,” I’ve overheard my kids say on more than one occasion. And, of course, they are usually right – especially during the weekends, which tend to revolve around two things: kids’ sports and my TV sports schedule. On weekends when the kids are home, they’ve learned to put up with having a mom who is constantly yelling things at the TV screen, like, “COME ON YOU IDIOTS! GET YOUR HEAD IN THE GAME!” or “WHAT DO YOU MEAN A YELLOW CARD? ARE YOU BLIND, REF?” Not to mention the gasps, groans, and cheers as I watch my favorite athletes stumble, miss, or score.

Seattle Sounders Clint Dempsey

My current favorite MLS team are the Seattle Sounders — in part due to this guy, Clint Dempsey, and in part due to their awesome XBOX uniforms.

I know, I know, the players and refs can’t really hear me. But it is fun to get absorbed in the game, and to pretend that I am there in the stands with my invisible group of friends, decked out in my team’s colors, sloshing my drink around and rooting for my team at the top of my lungs. “WOOHOOO! GO TEAM, YOU CAN DO IT!”

 

 

My Favorite Hot Tennis Players

My two favorites are right up front – Roger Federer and Rafa Nadal.

Now that the Barclay’s Premier League and La Liga’s seasons have come to an end (with Atletico Madrid disappointingly walking away with the title and Manchester City deservingly so); my attention has turned toward three competitions: ATP tennis matches (Nadal, Federer, Serena Williams, Sharapova, Andy Murray), MLS soccer (Seattle Sounders, San Jose Earthquakes, LA Galaxy), my local USL-Pro soccer team (Sac Republic), and the 2014 World Cup (which begins next month – GO USA!!).

Naturally, all of these great sports will mean an awful lot of yelling at the television screen. I guess I’d better invest in some ear plugs for my kids. 😉 World Cup 2014

Leave a Reply

