Waiting for My Hogwarts Letter (aka: Still a Harry Potter Nerd)

Happy dance! I am such a proud mother right now. No, not because my kids had great report cards or other outstanding  achievements. I am feeling super-proud of my 9-yo son, who is more than halfway finished reading the sixth book in the Harry Potter series. Not only is he enjoying the books, but he has been happily exploring the Pottermore website and talking with his friends about the books. He and his buddies have even created their own game of wizards, complete with magic wands and spell books full of magical spells to memorize and perform on each other. Hooray!


Harry Potter Book Collection

To understand why that makes me so happy, you must know that I am a hard-core Harry Potter nerd. Or, as we like to put it, a Potterhead. Ever since I first opened the pages of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone years ago, I became rather smitten – no, obsessed by the mysterious and magical world of Harry Potter. It is an understatement to say that I have merely read all seven books. I have read them each at least three times, and once in Spanish. I have listened to both the Jim Dale and Stephen Fry audiobook versions at least twice, and geeked out by comparing and contrasting the narrator’s styles. (Okay, I said I was obsessed, right?). I have watched each film several (dozen) times, collected the Lego figurines, and even have a beautiful book of postage stamps, which will never, ever be pasted onto a piece of mail. HP postage stamps

And every summer, I stare out of my window, anxiously hoping that this will be the year in which an owl will arrive with my acceptance letter into Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. (Or some adult-school version of it).

Creds to http://sammy4586.deviantart.com/

What’s that? Still not convinced that I am a true Potterhead? Okay, well, I was also a member of the Mugglenet community for years, tried my hand at fanfic (not successfully), and yes, I sewed my own Gryffindor quidditch robes and wore them to the July 2007 midnight release party of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Even cooler, I once had the privilege of having my quidditch robes autographed by Arthur A. Levine, the American editor for the Harry Potter books.

My homemade Gryffindor quidditch robes. (I know, I weighed a lot more back then. Shh…no teasing).

Okay, okay, enough of making you jealous. 😉 I’m sure that you’re convinced now that I am a genuine Harry Potter nut. I had such high aspirations for my three kids, too. I was sure that I could pass on to each of them my love of literature, and especially for J.K. Rowling’s amazing world of fantasy. Sadly, my two oldest children are rather indifferent to Harry Potter. Sigh. Muggles. But thank goodness, at least my youngest son has discovered the joy of magic. Smart kid. No wonder the Pottermore sorting hat placed him in the house of Ravenclaw.

7 responses to “Waiting for My Hogwarts Letter (aka: Still a Harry Potter Nerd)

  1. I read all the books as a child, so I think its awesome that you’ve encouraged your child to do the same. Such a great reading and bonding experience for you both. As someone with a literary blog, I think inspiring children with interesting books is so vital in this generation. Great post!

    • You’re right – it is really special to connect with my kids over great books which we can enjoy together. It isn’t an easy thing to encourage kids to read during this era of electronics and instant gratification. It’s always such a mini-miracle to see one of my kids grab onto a book and get excited over it. Thanks for posting! 🙂

    • It really is terrific.When they get excited about something in the books (by “they” I mean my youngest, lol), it is like reading them again for the first time. It is so special! I am now dying to throw my 9yo a HP birthday party this summer, complete with butterbeer, potions class, and Bertie Bott’s Every Flavored Beans.

  2. I have similar disappointments. I don’t subscribe to the notion that this generation is going to hell in a hand basket, it’s just that youth, in its narcissism, denies age but eventually finds its way.

    • Sure, Carlos, but it seems like our culture has created too wide a path for said youth to find their way toward becoming thoughtless, narcissistic adults. 😉

  3. Pingback: Potter-Loving Idiot (parody of Green Day’s American Idiot) | Stories in 5 Minutes

Leave a Reply

