Nails Against the Blackboard (aka: Pet Peeves)

For the record, the screech of fingernails against a blackboard never bothered me. But for some people, the sound is excruciating to hear, like – well, like nails on a blackboard. Every one of us has our own personal list of pet peeves, the idiosyncrasies, noises, and habits that drive us absolutely crazy. Of course, some us have longer lists than others. At the risk of exposing myself as a complete freak of nature, here is a list of my worst pet peeves:

  1. The sound of someone rubbing a balloon. Who needs static electricity to make their hair stand on end? The sound of squeaky balloons does the job for me.
  2. Bright overhead lights.  Yes, most people prefer to light up dark rooms with a flood of bright lights. I, however, am probably part bat and prefer dimly lit spaces at night. In fact, bright lights give me a headache. too bright too bright
  3. The sounds of people smacking, slurping, or crunching loudly while eating. Guess what I learned? There is an actual medical name for this “pet peeve.” Looks like I suffer from Misophonia. Guess what else? My oldest son deals with the same condition. Yes, meal times can be interesting at our house. misophonia
  4. Country music. I know, I know. How can I love nearly every genre of music from classical to hard rock, yet shun gold ole’ all-American country western music? I don’t know. There’s just something about the twangy-ness of the guitars and the whiny sound of the singers that makes my skin crawl. An example of twangy country music
  5. Fractals. Ugh. That’s all I have to say about that. Even thinking about fractals gives me intense, horrible goosebumps and an itchy scalp. Like right now. Gotta go recover.

    fractals

    Ugh…Fractals

4 responses to “Nails Against the Blackboard (aka: Pet Peeves)

  1. I was with you until you dissed fractals – those harmless, delicate, weird little math formulas. That one looks like an oak leaf in fall backlit by beautiful sunshine.

    As for country music, I couldn’t agree more. And it’s not just the twang – it’s also the faux-authenticity of the hardworkin’ man, the tired cliches that almost seem like a parody. So sappy.

    But what I really agree with you on is Pablo Neruda’s house. I want to build a house like that!

    • Haha…had to go back a few posts to find the one about Pablo Neruda’s house. Yes, I would love a house like his home in Valparaiso. It reminds me so much of architecture I’ve admired in San Francisco. I would also like to visit the one on Isla Negra. As for fractals, well, what can I say? *shudder* I keep trying to look at them without a reaction, but it is impossible. Holes have the same effect.

      Now I must say that not all country music is awful. Some is very similar to folk music, which I actually do like. But I agree – I usually do not enjoy sappy music riddled with cliches, or that set to a generic music track. Sometimes it sounds as though I could swap the lyrics of two different songs and it would sound basically the same. Blah.

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

