The Scream of the Kettle (Aka: Life in a Cup of Tea)

“There is something in the nature of tea that leads us into a world of quiet contemplation of life.”
Lin Yutang, The Importance Of Living

When I seek a small snack, or a companion while reading or writing, or a soothing mug of warmth on a cold winter’s day, I open my tea drawer (yes, I have an entire drawer dedicated to tea. Doesn’t everyone?) and view my selections:

Earl Gray, Chai, Vanilla Apricot White Tea, Mint Jasmine Green Tea, a few fruity selections that belong to my kids, and, of course, plain old Lipton. hot tea

Selecting the right tea feels like a kind of accomplishment within itself – a mini-triumph in the middle of a day when even a small success is a tremendous victory. I rip open the package like it is a brand-new gift, just for me to enjoy, place it in just the right mug (yes, I have a shelf just for mugs. Two, in fact), then put the tea kettle on to boil. Yes, I know that modern folks don’t use old-fashioned tea kettles. Not since the advent of gadgets like electric tea kettles and microwave ovens. But I will never get tired of using the old-fashioned kettle. I love the feeling of my anticipation simmering like the bubbles of water heating inside its secret depths, then piercing whistle as the steam rushes through the vent, screaming its urgency for me to hear, “Teatime! Teatime! Hurry!”

Every time I fill my mug, see the clear water stain with color, and feel the heat rise, I feel a strange sense of calm. My mind drifts back through time to stormy afternoons, sipping tea while completing homework, stirring in a spoonful of sugar while music played softly nearby, or laughing with a friend while smelling the spicy herbs that simmered in each cupful. No wonder tea is still the most popular drink around the world. pouring a cup of tea

“We had a kettle; we let it leak:
Our not repairing made it worse.
We haven’t had any tea for a week…
The bottom is out of the Universe.”
Rudyard Kipling, The Collected Poems of Rudyard Kipling

Strange how a teapot can represent at the same time the comforts of solitude and the pleasures of company.  ~Author Unknown

2 responses to “The Scream of the Kettle (Aka: Life in a Cup of Tea)

    • Funny that you mention that. I just finished my last cup of cocoa mint mate. Okay, not exactly the same us pure mate, I know.So American of me. 😀 I’ve had it, though, and it’s pretty good.

Leave a Reply

