Your Mission, Should You Choose to Accept It (aka My Dream Job)

Maggie Q as NikitaI have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up. My dream job is to be a spy. It is such an ideal career for someone like me! Just imagine – I could live overseas, speak different languages, wear cool disguises, and spend my time deciphering codes, solving puzzles, and extracting sensitive information all in order to protect our nation’s security. And maybe I’d even get to do occasional amazing things, like skydiving at night, or rappelling down the sides of buildings, or sparring with bad guys who get in my way.

Well, unfortunately, I discovered my dream career a few years too late. Apparently, the CIA does not hire people over the age of 35 to work as Operations Officers. And also, it’s not the kind of job that goes well with parenting three kids.

Sydney Bristow Alias

Jennifer Garner as Sydney Bristow, the best female TV spy ever (in my opinion)

My inner child is crying. “Waaah! I wanted to be Sydney Bristow! So unfair!” The life of espionage is so seductive. And is it any wonder? Film and TV role models of female spies, like Sydney Bristow, Nikita, and yes, even Foxxy Cleopatra are super sexy, intelligent, and independent. Plus, they can kill a man with their bare hands. Plus, they get to use high-tech gadgets like tubes of lipstick that take photos and lift secret files from an enemy’s computer. And they get to do all of this while wearing disguises, like Spy Barbies.

Beyonce as Foxxy Cleopatra

But alas, such a life is not meant for me. I guess it’s just as well. I’m actually scared to death of heights and could never bring myself to jump out of a plane to complete a mission. Guess I will have to face the fact that I am only a typical soccer and gym mom, teacher, and suburb dweller who bakes fresh bread and never does anything out of the ordinary.

Or am I?Spy hiding

2 responses to “Your Mission, Should You Choose to Accept It (aka My Dream Job)

  1. Ah yes! You may already have looked into it. Well, fear of heights and death are common disqualifiers. I believe a certain amount of sociopathology would be an asset. What good is an agent who won’t garrote a child to ensure deniability.
    You’ve found a good muse. For excitement I ski or enjoy sailing because I’m not very good at either. The rush of not knowing why the couple in front of are the size of ants or find myself tacking in a fresh breeze is sometimes better than sex. Keep writing!

  2. Haha! I have tried many times to conquer that fear of heights problem via learning to rock climb, rapelling down a mountainside, and high ropes courses during a high adventure course back in college. I think that I could try anything once — except for skydiving. That one’s out for sure. 😉 I would love to try skiing one day, and sailing (although I have sailed many times in a 2-man boat, if that counts). I love adventure, which is why I suppose the life of espionage seems so appealing. But I suppose we suburb-dwellers must content ourselves with the adventure of living vicariously through the characters whose lives inspire us. Thanks as always for commenting, as well as the encouragement, Carlos. I will indeed keep writing.

Leave a Reply

