Summertime Dreaming

Less than two weeks of school…let the countdown begin! We educators are not very different from children when it comes to summer vacation. As the last day of school approaches, our eyes begin to glaze over, and our brains turn to mush. Really. It’s true. Right at this very moment, all I can think of is that theme song from the movie Meatballs. “Are you ready for the summer? Are you ready for the hot nights? Are you ready for the fireflies, the moonlit skies, and a whole lot of fooling around…” How can I possibly make it through these last few days? I have so many plans this summer, starting with:

1. Engage in some nice, relaxing Global Thermonuclear War

Ahhhh! While outside, the sun is shining, the birds are singing, and the air is filled with the fragrance of summer jasmine (well okay, smog), I will be parked in front of a computer screen, creating armies and trying to take over the world. I still haven’t tried Age of Empires Online. Wonder if it’s any good?

2. Wear a Bikini

Oh boy, I am still not so sure about this one! I have never ever worn a bikini. I have never had the body for it, and to be honest, I still don’t think that I do. But at the age of 36, this may be my last shot to try it out and get away with it, right? Geez, I am blushing already. Maybe wearing a bikini requires a kind of I’m Sexy and I Know It attitude, and I am just not there.

3. Drink a Beer

I know, I know, this one is completely ridiculous. How could I have gone so many years without ever trying a beer? I have nothing against beer. It is just that my choice of alcoholic drinks is usually a fine wine, or some fancy mixed drink. But good old, humble, reliable beer…never! I am still searching for the perfect opportunity to try it. Maybe during the Olympic Games? 4th of July? My 37th birthday?

4. Remodel My Sons’ Bedroom

My 12yo finally decided that he has outgrown the bright blue walls and cartoon vehicle wallpaper I put up when he was two years old. Now he would like olive green walls and cool decor, something suitable for a soon-to-be teenage boy. Unfortunately, he shares a room with his 7yo brother, who wants bright orange walls and a space theme. We’ll see if I manage to merge the two somehow.

5.  Write Write Write

Sure, I can make time to write blog articles or poetry. But the truth is, I am a fiction writer. Thanks to a busy school year, I have a huge backlog of stories to write or revise. At last, I will have time to sit at the computer and type. Well, after my three kids finish playing Roblox and Minecraft and Zoo Tycoon. Okay, maybe it is really time to buy another family computer!

Of course, there are also the usual activities, like camping, and swimming, and day trips with my kids. But who needs to plan such things? Summer is not a time for packed schedules and full calendars. It is an opportunity to kick back with the kids, watch movies, read books, and grill everything we eat. Yes, I am ready for the summer, and oh-so-ready for school to end. Then I shall don my sunglasses, pop open a Diet Pepsi (or a beer?), and cue the music: Summertime  by Will Smith. Ohhh yeah!!

Leave a Reply

